Padded Knickers & Liners

Urbanist Padded Cycling Knickers - Purple Flower

9 Review(s)
£49.00

Why to Buy: The Holy Grail! - stunning undies for medium/longer daily rides, with exceptional quality built-in Italian chamois padding and subtly pretty patterning.

9 customer reviews

9 Item(s)

10 per page
  1. Pad too short

    Review by Piglet (Posted on March 08, 2019)

    I guess it depends how you sit on you bike - I roll forwards onto my pubic bone and the pad came nowhere near the right area and did not cover the flappy bits of skin at all. Friends tell me their delicate area is the seat bones - these would have provided cushioning in that area. The pants were a lovely fabric and beautifully made, though I would also have liked a little extra length in the 'leg' to stop riding up. I would like to see chamois lengths on the product spec to avoid this. Disappointed to have to return them as they had a lovely feel.

    VeloVixen Says: sorry they didn't work for you - as you suggest, everyone is shaped differently and sits differently on a bike, so unfortunately there's no one shape/size fits all, but apologies for your frustrations. x

  2. Great product

    Review by Karen A (Posted on October 10, 2018)

    Have seen this brand on Facebook, but was wary of ordering them. Finally saw them at the bike show and liked the look of them. I have now used them for a couple of 22 mile bike rides and found them remarkably comfortable. The pad fits me well. The material is very soft and comfortable and the legs don’t ride up too much, and they certainly don’t rub my legs. I have been very pleased with their performance.
    I’m an average size 12, and the medium fits well. Not tight at all. They are well made with light, soft and comfortable fabric.
    They are expensive, but sometimes you get what you pay for. I’m looking forward to trying them out on longer rides. We do a lot of cycling holidays and these will be so much lighter and smaller to take away, rather than my normal Lycra. I guess they’ll dry more quickly too.
    All in all I’m delighted with my purchase and would definitely recommend them.

  3. Pad Needs To Be Longer rr further forward

    Review by Rachel vO (Posted on July 03, 2017)

    I am a normal UK size 12-14. Following the sizing from Velovixen I had to order the XL pant. The fit of the pant is fairly good and the fabric feels like it will be fast drying however I agree with the previous comment that the gel pad is not long enough in the front as it does not reach my pubic bone so there is no protection. The gel pad is 6cm shorter than off-the-peg but less stylish knickers which cost less than 1/3 of the price.

    Very disappointing. Will have to return them as they aren't fit for purpose.


    VeloVixen Says: thanks for your thoughts, Rachel. So sorry to hear the fit didn't work for you - we will deal with your return once they're back with us. However, we do need to respond to your assertion that they are not fit for purpose and overpriced - in your case you've found they don't work for you which we don't dispute, but these are our single best selling piece of cycle clothing for nearly 3 years now, with an unusually low rate of returns. So by and large they very much are fit for purpose. They are priced sensibly for the quality of material, pad and finish they offer, especially to judge from the high number returning customers we have who come back to buy more. Best wishes for the rest of the summer and beyond! x

  4. Pad needs to be 1 to 1 1/2 inches further forward

    Review by Nikki (Posted on June 24, 2017)

    Quality, styling and fit of the pant itself are all great. However I am a standard size 10 and a "normal" shape but the chamois misses my sit bones and doesnt protect far enough forwards either. Very disappointed.

    VeloVixen says:
    Sorry to hear that the padding doesn't fit your body shape, this isn't something we have heard before. Have a look at our alternative range of padded underwear which may fit you better. Thank you for your feedback.

  5. Fantastic Pants

    Review by Cornish (Posted on August 22, 2016)

    I don't say that every often. Usually being no more than an occasional cyclist, I bought these for a cycling holiday where I did up to 45km per day. I have never had such a comfortable behind in the saddle. They dried out quickly after washing between rides too. Should add I also used my own gel saddle cover. Echo previous advice to size down if between sizes. Medium was perfect for my 12-14 arse. So so comfortable too.

  6. Great for the old girls too

    Review by Flower Power (Posted on March 14, 2016)

    Great customer service on the phone from Velovixen helping with this delicate issue. I was concerned that these knickers may be too short in the body, but they are not. I was also concerned the chamois gusset would belike sitting on an enormous sanitary towel, but it is hardly noticeable. I am a size 14 and took advice to go with large and they fit just right for a 14/16 size behind. They are a bit pricey for knickers, but they are well made, they fit comfortably and there is no gain in sore delicates. I will be getting another pair shortly.

  7. I just love them

    Review by Anna (Posted on November 01, 2015)

    I class myself as a leisure cyclist and I'm training at the moment for a lands end to John o groats challenge next year. Just tried them today and they are soooo comfortable, very pretty (unlike most sports gear). Beautifully made. They are expensive but I love them so much I've ordered a second pair.


    VeloVixen Says: Anna - that's great that they're working so well for you! Keep us posted about LEJOG next year - GOOD LUCK! x

  8. urban use

    Review by Anaiiis (Posted on October 18, 2015)

    Beautiful pattern and well made pant. If between sizes, I would advise sizing down. They seem comfortable. My biggest fear was they will be too tight around the thighs - they are far from it, could even be more gripping there. Now, one final factor to consider is what are you going to use them for. If you are thinking about anything like 20 km + trips, you might be disappointed, as padding is not that excelling. You should switch to proper cycling padded pants for that. On the upside, if you want a urban cycling pant that you can squeeze under any normal pants or skirt, look no further. I am happy with the purchase, but do find these panties a bit pricy for what they offer.

    VeloVixen Says: thanks very much for your constructive comments! Glad to hear they're working well for you around town. On the distance/pad quality issue, although Urbanist suggest these are ideal for trips up to 25 miles, we've been consistently surprised/amazed by the number of people who've taken them touring or on cycling holidays and consistently twice that distance with no ill effects. One of the biggest selling points to us is the exceptional quality of the Italian pad considering the price tag.

  9. Wonderful

    Review by Anniemay (Posted on October 08, 2015)

    I have been wearing these for spin classes and they are wonderfully comfortable. Not worn them out on the bike yet but I'm sure they'll be good for that too :-)))

    VeloVixen Says: fantastic to hear - we love them too, especially their flexibility that allows them to work for spinning too. x

9 Item(s)

10 per page

Write Your Own Review